We have a new regional structure. The Asia & Oceania regional is going to split into FOUR regions.

The idea loomed back in 2010 when we representatives within the region met in Singapore. Considering the geographic, cultural, and practical reasons, the Asia & Oceania region is divided into four, namely:

  • Southern Asia Region (SAR): India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
  • North East Asia Region (NEAR): China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea N&S, Macau, Taiwan
  • South East Asia Region (SEAR): Borneo, Brunei, Burma/Myanmar, Indonesia, Malaysia/Sarawak, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam
  • Oceania Region (OR): Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands

The transition to the new structure took place in May 2011. And now it is time for me to step down and handover.

We will have our handover meeting this weekend. I have spent some time and effort making a powerpoint sharing my views on how to do things better for IMechE. Hope it helps.